Wednesday, August 24, 2016

James Galbraith Resigns As Chair Of Economists For Peace And Security

After serving for 20 years, James K. Galbraith is stepping down as Director of Economists for Peace and Security (EPS), an important group in my view that he has built up during his time as its leader.  I know that is a long time, so I understand that perhaps the time has come.  However, his shoes will  be hard to  fill.  He originally succeeded Kenneth Arrow (who just turned 95) and the late Lawrence Klein, who co-founded the organization and served as co-chairs.  Other Nobelists who are Fellows or Board members include Amartya Sen, Daniel McFadden, George Akerlof, Joseph Stiglitz, Eric Maskin, Roger Myerson, and Thomas Schelling.  I hope that a suitable successor for Galbraith will be found.

Barkley Rosser

No comments: